SlutWalks and the future of me

When do people take your picture? Think about it. What are you wearing when your picture is taken? Who are you with? Does the photographer ask you for permission? Do they post it online? Most importantly, do you care about these things? After having a picture of me and my friends go viral, I do.

My picture was taken on May 7, 2011. It wasn’t very long ago, so I remember it all. Being a high school student, I woke up late, got a bagel, went to take my SAT IIs, and then met up with some friends. We had heard online about something called a Slut March, or a Slut Walk, happening in Boston, and were planning to go. Two friends of mine were excited to dress up for the walk, but I hadn’t had time. So I, with another friend, was just wearing what I wear everyday, a tank top and jeans. But when we arrived, and met Jaclyn Friedman wearing lingerie too, my friend offered to carry my top in her bag and I said yes. So now we have answered three questions: When, What, Who. But there are more complicated questions to answer.

The reporter (who I later learned had taken multiple pictures) came up to us and asked our names, and our opinions on the march. I was surprised, because in my experience reporters can easily ignore youth activists. There certainly hadn’t been anyone asking us questions at Youth Pride the year before. So we gave our names, and talked for a bit — but never once did he ask for our picture, or for permission to take our picture later, or give indication that photos of us would go online.