Capitalism: A Waitress’ Story

I began waiting tables with the best of intentions. It’s the same story for all of us: a “transition” job, it’s social, it affords a relatively lavish lifestyle, what with all the late nights and accepted alcoholism, but most importantly, it pays well for, let’s face it, very little skill.

I am a college graduate. I am a stellar example of the oh-so-familiar cliche: a fairly attractive (not stunning) woman, smart, middle-class, and the proud owner (yes, I mean owner) of a broke-ass, pointless, motherfuckin’ English degree and serious student loan debt.

I digress.

So as I transitioned to what would surely be the “next big thing,” I waited tables. Every day, I put on a little mascara and tried my best. Of course, with any restaurant, I started with the crappy shifts — lunches, Monday nights, etc. I made very little money but was, nevertheless, making a decent hourly wage. As people quit or got promoted or became more hated in the ruthless restaurant hierarchy and thus punished by lunch shifts, I filled the spots on better shifts and consistently got later cuts. I was making a little more money. I stopped drinking PBR, and started drinking craft beer. Nothing too fancy. But a little fancier than PBR.

After I had a good night, I’d have a few drinks and spring for a better dinner than I normally would have opted for. And the next day, maybe I’d go out to brunch if I was feeling so inclined, thank you very much.

I started recognizing the regulars and, at first, it made me feel cool. Like, “Hey, I know you. You know me. You and I come here to be seen so here we are. It’s nice to be known.” I’d shoot the shit with them. Hell, I’d even shoot the shit with new faces. They were my captive audience for 45 minutes and surely they had something of interest to say. And sometimes they did in fact have something interesting to say. Sometimes they would dazzle me with a pearl of wisdom. Sometimes I felt like they were actually listening to me.